What to Wear: on a casual coffee date

what to wear

The theme of this week’s What to Wear is an outfit for a casual coffee date. This was way more stressful for me than it should have been! My thought process was like this: “OK, so I’m going on a coffee date, which means it’s a first date, because I don’t really like, drink coffee or hang out in coffee shops, but if I don’t know someone well, I’m a fan of meeting them in public during daylight hours to ensure he isn’t an axe murderer. So I want to be casual, but also this fictional person I’m going on this date with doesn’t really know me yet probably so I need to show my personality through my outfit (duh) so he isn’t like, ‘wait, this girl is super weird’ in like, two weeks.”

Um. Isn’t it super shocking that I’m single?

DSC_0047

Just being totally casual.

Anyway, I have actually worn this dress on a casual coffee date before because it’s cute, but also super comfortable and I wear it all the time. But of course, I need to wear patterned tights with it too. Otherwise HOW WILL ANYONE KNOW THAT I’M A QUIRKY AND SPECIAL SNOWFLAKE???

Ugh, my face looked stupid.

Ugh, my face looked stupid.

Tights & shoes.

Tights & shoes.

Dress: Pseudio
Tights: Modcloth
Cardigan: H&M
Shoes: Macy’s
Belt: Modcloth
Necklace: H&M

Wanna see what everyone else is wearing on their casual coffee dates? Head to Nicole’s blog to find out!

Tagged , , ,

10 thoughts on “What to Wear: on a casual coffee date

  1. Marci says:

    This outfit is adorable and I think it’s a horrible sign of my metaphorical ball & chain that it never occurred to me that the prompt was for an actual date… Those tights rock (& roll) and definitely lay a subtle sign down that you’re a special snowflake 😉 Does that sweater have studs on it? Because if so, I just… I just can’t with the awesomeness. And if it’s not studs, it’s still pretty sweet.

    • alexgdavis says:

      Haha, no, that seems like a reasonable way of thinking, I’m just crazy! The sweater has little beads all over the shoulders, and I love it too. I’ve had it for a few years and it’s getting kind of worn-out looking, but I will never give it up!

  2. Sarah says:

    hehe, I love this & how you thought it through so thoroughly. Suuuper cute tights, as well as the whole outfit. 🙂

  3. Dude, I miss you, like whoa!! Your thought process cracked me up!! I also love this outfit. It’s totally an Alex get-up and it’s totally worthy of a awkward first date. 🙂

  4. Lexi says:

    That totally sounds like what my thought process would be haha! I love the outfit, those tights are to die for! =}

  5. lisa says:

    I LOVE those tights and you look like an adorable, quirky snowflake. I also love that you shared your though process here because that’s totally how my brain works too 🙂

Leave a Reply

