Weekend recharge

Last week was not the best! I was just so exhausted and sick and cranky, and it all led to me having a minor breakdown. SO! I decided to spend the weekend doing low-key but productive things, and I was pretty successful. Actually, in addition to cleaning my apartment, watching a couple movies for my AFI project and buying groceries, I accomplished TWO major things. That’s a lot for one weekend!

First, I used my brand new Crock-Pot for the first time and made chicken stew. Now, if you know me, you’ve probably heard me claim to be incapable of cooking on numerous occasions. Obviously that’s not true, and anyone CAN cook; I just really dislike expending much effort, and cooking seems like effort. But lately I’ve been getting tired of eating the same three or four things all the time, and I decided the easiest way to expand my repertoire was to buy a slow cooker.

Ingredients!

Ingredients!

It turns out it was pretty easy! I just had to cut up a couple things and dump them into the slow cooker for about seven hours and then I had stew and now I will have lunch this week! It actually tastes pretty good, too. I think I cooked it a little bit too long, and I possibly filled the Crock-Pot a bit too much, but in general, I’m pretty impressed for the first time. Here is the recipe I used. I pretty much followed it, except I used chicken instead of turkey, and I basically just used less broth since I have a smaller slow cooker. That whole site is pretty great, I will probably try some of the other recipes soon.

STEW!

STEW!

The other thing I did this weekend was finish cleaning out my storage closet. I have been putting this off for sooo long. Remember back in January when I went on an organizing kick? Yeah, I kind of lost momentum for a while. This was mostly because I only have one actual closet in my apartment, and it was a total mess. Here’s what it looked like before:

Oh. My. God.

Oh. My. God.

So that’s not normal probably! First I got a shoe rack to take care of my disastrous shoe problem. I have a tiny area of free space by my front door (yay!) so I put it there.

shoerack

Shoes!

Then I threw out a whole bunch of stuff, and it turned out like this:

So much better.

So much better.

Seriously, did I mention this is my only closet? I’m pretty impressed with myself. Now I just need to fix the cords around my TV. Currently they are masking taped together, and let’s just say if I ever need to unplug my DVD player for some reason, it isn’t going to be pretty.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

