What to Wear: floral

what to wear

Well now here is an exciting thing: I’ve decided I want to start doing some outfit posts. My outfits aren’t necessarily that interesting all the time, but I very much enjoy talking/thinking/dreaming about clothes, so now this is happening and you’re just going to have to accept it. My friend Nicole has kindly allowed me to take part in her What to Wear series, which means that I’ll be posting an outfit every two weeks that follows a specific theme. I’m joining a group of lovely lady bloggers (I’m sorry, I can’t think of a better term to describe fashionable women who blog, seriously I’m so sorry) who will also be posting their take on the theme every couple of weeks.

DSC_0012

I will never be able to pose in a way that is not awkward.

This week, the theme is floral. I love patterns, I’m totally into floral, so this one was fun for me. Plus, it’s spring! Sure, we had a huge gross snowstorm yesterday in New Brunswick, but the calendar says spring, and that means it’s flower time. I came very close to selling this dress last year when I was getting ready to move, but I’m so glad I didn’t, because I’ve actually started wearing it a lot for events like getting drunk with my friends or going to a house party where I don’t know anyone. I feel like it’s just the right amount of adorable for a casual outfit. I mean, yes it’s kind of short, but I believe in the theory that nothing is too short as long as you wear tights and don’t bend over in public. Wow, I know so much about fashion!

DSC_0013

It’s still cold out, this jacket is necessary.

The other thing I know about fashion is that nothing looks cuter with a ruffly floral dress than COWBOY BOOTS. Actually, the great thing about cowboy boots is that you can wear them with literally anything ever and everyone will think you know how to use a lasso! Also, these boots fit over my cankles, which is sadly a serious thing I have to take into consideration when buying boots. I’m thinking of starting a cankle support group actually, is anyone in? No? Just me? Yep. That’s what I thought.

 DSC_0023

DSC_0017

Dress: Modcloth
Jacket: Modcloth
Boots: Gift from somewhere in Wyoming
Belt: Envy
Necklace: The Black Market (Halifax)
Bracelet: Modcloth
Tights: Macy’s

Oh! And make sure you check out everyone else who’s participating this week by reading Nicole’s blog post, here.

Tagged , ,

14 thoughts on “What to Wear: floral

  1. Yayyyyy! Welcome to What to Wear. I’m so excited about this!!!

    I love that dress. In fact, I would call that an Alex dress. It’s so totally perfect on you and reminds me of something you would pick out for yourself. I think my favourite part of this outfit, though, is the double wrapped belt. I’m so totally digging belts these days. I want to belt EVERYTHING!!

  2. Love this look–especially the cowboy boots!

  3. lisa says:

    I really love this look! That jacket and boots would be awesome to have in my closet 🙂 That is a great dress, perfect to welcome spring! Welcome to the What to Wear gang!

  4. Sarah says:

    welcome to what to wear! your outfit is really cute, and I love that necklace! is it a locket?

    • alexgdavis says:

      Thanks Sarah! The necklace opens, and there’s actually a little clock inside! The batteries need to be replaced, but it still looks cute anyway, even if it’s not practical.

  5. Lexi says:

    Welcome to what to wear! Really cute outfit! love the boots and the necklace! =}

  6. letitunravel says:

    I really really love those boots, but the whole outfit is just super cute!

  7. Katie says:

    Welcome to the What to Wear party! 🙂 I love your dress and especially your belt!

Leave a Reply

