AFI’s 100 Years…100 Movies

As I briefly mentioned in an earlier post, I plan to watch AFI’s 100 Years…100 Movies this year. I love movies, and I actually review films for the publication I work for, but I still haven’t seen a lot of the classics, and I feel like this must be rectified. I decided to go with the 10th anniversary list for no particular reason other than it was the first one I came across, and it seemed to have a lot of older movies on it (by older movies, I mean anything that was released before 1990). I’ll probably end up watching the films that were on AFI’s original list but didn’t make the cut the second time around at some point, anyway.

Also, I have a head start, because I’ve already watched 26 movies on the list, which means I only have to watch 74. This works out to around six a month, which is very manageable. Admittedly I’m already a little behind schedule…I only watched five this month. It’s fine, I will watch seven in February. Yes, I know it’s a short month, I can still do it! I’m not going to do elaborate reviews – those are already on the Internet, duh – I’ll just stick to short recaps. So, here’s what I watched in January.

tootsie

Tootsie (1982). Well this sure was wacky! Dustin Hoffman plays an actor who struggles to get good jobs, so he does what any man would do and dresses up like a woman to get a job on a soap opera, where he befriends his costar but also he falls in love with her. It was funny, although I have to say I got kind of a no feeling from the increasingly awkward situations he got into while lying to the person he was supposedly in love with all along.

bonnie___clyde_8

Bonnie and Clyde (1967). The thing that struck me about this one was how much it influenced every heist/bank robber film that came after. There were moments where I was like, this seems cliche! But then I remembered that it was kind of the first movie ever like this, so it wasn’t actually cliche at all. Another important observation: Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway were both insanely attractive.

midnightcowboy720pmp4aa

Midnight Cowboy (1969). In this movie, Jon Voight moves to New York City and learns that it’s actually totally hard to be a male prostitute who only sleeps with women. But, he also befriends Dustin Hoffman, who is kind of a rat-faced creep, but then it turns out that he has a good heart sometimes and they form a pretty beautiful and also sad friendship. It wasn’t at all what I expected, but I ended up really enjoying it.

Dr-Strangelove

Dr. Strangelove or:  How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb (1964). This was ALSO not at all what I expected. At first I was kind of losing interest, but then I realized this film, about the arms race and nuclear weapons, was actually really darkly funny. There are so many scenes with great dialogue satirizing the whole situation, and once I realized what was happening, I got really into it.

taxidriver

Taxi Driver (1976). This was my favourite of all my January movies. First of all, young Robert De Niro is pretty hot! Especially with a mohawk. Anyway, he plays a restless former marine who takes a job as a cab driver because he can’t sleep at night anyway. After witnessing a bunch of terrible things and terrible people, he kind of goes all vigilante and decides to clean up the city himself. I really liked the weird note it ends on…it was sort of a positive note, but I highly doubt things ended happily for that character.

Just in case you’re dying to know, the movies on AFI’s list that I’ve already watched are after the cut.

  1. Casablanca (1942)
  2. Gone with the Wind (1939)
  3. Schindler’s List (1993)
  4. The Wizard of Oz (1939)
  5. Star Wars (1977)
  6. 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968)
  7. The Graduate (1967)
  8. It’s a Wonderful Life (1946)
  9. E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982)
  10. To Kill a Mockingbird (1962)
  11. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (1975)
  12. Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (1937)
  13. Annie Hall (1977)
  14. The Sound of Music (1965)
  15. King Kong (1933)
  16. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001)
  17. Jaws (1975)
  18. Rocky (1976)
  19. A Clockwork Orange (1971)
  20. The Silence of the Lambs (1991)
  21. Forrest Gump (1994)
  22. Titanic (1997)
  23. 12 Angry Men (1957)
  24. The Sixth Sense (1999)
  25. Pulp Fiction (1994)
  26. Toy Story (1995)
Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “AFI’s 100 Years…100 Movies

  1. erfillmore says:

    I LOVE movies (especially older ones) so I love this entry! Look forward to hearing more of your reviews 🙂

  2. […] the chance to learn about my progress with my AFI’s 100 Years…100 Movies project, which is also the perfect opportunity for me to bastardize quotes from The Godfather. We all lose […]

Leave a Reply

