Reading for free

I’m pretty much constantly annoyed with myself for not reading enough. Generally my excuse (to myself, because no one else particularly cares if I read or not) is related to my job. I’m an editor, so I essentially read and write all day at work, and sometimes when I come home I just want to turn off my brain a bit and process entertainment passively in the form of TV or a movie.

The thing is, when I DO get around to cracking open a book/iPad I quickly remember how much I enjoy devouring fiction. I was the kind of child who was in a summer reading club at the library every year, and I always won a medal for reading 100 books. One hundred books! In like, two months! Now I’m lucky if I read 10 books in a whole year.

slp

I talk about how I need to read more alllll the time, but then I never do it instead. So this time, I’m taking action. First of all, after watching and becoming obsessed with Silver Linings Playbook and then watching it again and still loving it, I bought the book by Matthew Quick. I’m about three-quarters of the way through and I like it, but damn, it’s way darker than the movie! Anyway, I’m reading every night and this is good, but buying books every couple of weeks doesn’t really fit into my whole budgeting thing, so I had to come up with a way to get books for free.

Books for free……….free books……..books….that don’t…..cost…..money…..

YEP I GOT A LIBRARY CARD, DUH.

Well, technically I’m GETTING a library card. I completely forgot to go to the library on Saturday (it’s literally across the street from me, so this is pathetic) and when I realized it wasn’t open on Sundays, I ordered my card online, and I should have it in about a week. The library has come a long way since I last had a card approximately a decade ago – now you can sign out ebooks! How crazy is that? Yes, I know, everyone already knows this is a thing, but I still think it’s pretty cool.

The other thing I’m going to do to try to encourage myself to read more is to maintain a list of books I want to check out, because not being able to think of a specific title I want to read off the top of my head is a really stupid thing that prevents me from reading. Here’s what I have so far:

  • Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
  • Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan
  • Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris
  • Everything is Perfect When You’re  a Liar by Kelly Oxford (this doesn’t come out until April)
  • How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran
  • Good Omens by Neil Gaiman (and probably everything else by him too)
  • The Beggar Maid by Alice Munro
  • Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler
  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

If anyone has any suggestions about things I should read, I would love to hear them! I mostly like modern fiction, and my favourite authors are Kurt Vonnegut, Margaret Atwood and Tom Robbins. What else should I read??? I need help to make this happen.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Reading for free

  1. If you end up liking “Me Talk Pretty One Day” then I think you’ll like “Holidays on Ice” by him. Love Vonnegut, as well… maybe something from Kerouac?

    • alexgdavis says:

      Thanks for the suggestions! I’m looking forward to diving into Sedaris. I’ve been meaning to read his stuff for years, but have never gotten around to it.

      I did read On the Road a few years back. I liked it, but I found it a little overrated. I sometimes struggle with those books that are described as classics or must-reads or whatever…I feel like I have high expectations, and sometimes I end up being disappointed.

Leave a Reply

